Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

DIGITAL FLUENCY

lightbulb It is vital to help children build their digital skills to ensure that they become digitally fluent. Teachers and parents want children to develop skills with the assistance of Technology to become “life-long learners” (Howell, J). To be digitally fluent in primary school is to have basic skills such as knowledge on word, excel, publisher and to be able to create videos, podcasts and to know how to browse the web (Howell, J).

students_elearning-635x422
Learning these skills requires time and is developed and refined in each year of schooling. As adults, we are always building on our skills and learning every day. It is our responsibility to always be encouraging our students and children to feel comfortable learning new skills, especially if they feel like they cannot. I believe the best way to execute this is to teach using a variety of different sources, to ensure that students who may excel in one area and lack skills in another area are still confident learners.

As a child, I struggled with following steps as I would easily get distracted. It was my own parent’s mission to teach me to develop different learning skills, with the help of teacher aids to ensure that I could concentrate when learning content. I am now a confident learner and I understand that everyone is individual in how they learn, which is why it should be teachers and parents priority to create a multimodal learning environment to meet every child’s needs. One of the reasons why I enjoy learning with technology is that if I am stuck on how to do something using an online source such as Pinterest, I can look it up online and there is always a tutorial on YouTube on how to do it. This is so beneficial for students, who like me, may not be technologically savvy. eLearning

